Chocolate Covered Potato Chip Cookies

I know you might be thinking I’m crazy right about now…

But I just had to give it a whirl!

The sweetness of my grandmother’s famous chocolate chip cookies were calling my name. But I needed to get my salty fix too. What is a girl to do?

BAKE! (Then again, baking is my answer to a lot of things!)

IMG_1829

I wanted to get creative and combine two of my favorites – chocolate covered potato chips and my grandmother’s chocolate chip cookies.

Why mess with a good thing you say?!? Why not just make the recipe as it was intended?

Because I love to try new things! I want to experiment and have fun in my kitchen!

So I say to you… WHY NOT!?!

IMG_1917

Chocolate Covered Potato Chip Cookies:

Ingredients:

  •  2 c. all-purpose flour
  • 3/4 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. salt
  • 1 c. butter
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1 2/3 c. brown sugar packed
  • 2 tbsp. light corn syrup
  • 2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • chocolate chips or chocolate melts of your choice
  • Potato chips (I used Ruffles because they are thicker than regular chips)

Directions:

First, prepare the chocolate covered potato chips.

IMG_1771 Melt the chocolate chips. (I used microwavable chocolate candy melts)

IMG_1774 Gently stir and coat the potato chips, one batch at a time. IMG_1775 Generously coat each chip. IMG_1778 On foil or wax paper, lay out the chips and allow the chocolate to harden. IMG_1785 Now it is time for the cookie dough. IMG_1833

Cream the butter and brown sugar.IMG_1837IMG_1840IMG_1841 Add the eggs, vanilla and corn syrup and mix well. IMG_1842IMG_1844 Add in all dry ingredients. Mix into smooth cookie dough.IMG_1850IMG_1853IMG_1856 Finally, they are ready to meet! Potato, meet your new friend, cookie dough…IMG_1858Stir in the chocolate covered potato chips. Don’t worry if they begin to break. The flavor is all the same! IMG_1860 Stir together well.IMG_1868 Drop dough by the spoonful onto greased cookie sheet. IMG_1872 Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes or until golden. IMG_1895

Makes 2 – 2 1/2 dozen cookies.

Again, you know my philosophy on desserts… best served with ice cream or a cup of milk!

IMG_1904

You know you want to give this a try! Your taste buds will thank you for the experiment! Mine begged me for more and more!

– RH

P.S. Does it count as a whole cookie if it broke when I moved it from the cooling rack and I ate a section here and a section there and then… well yeah, maybe that was a whole a cookie after all.

Enjoy! (As many as you want to believe you enjoyed. Sometimes it is just best to lose count!)

Leave a Reply

